Governance NZ

University of Waikato

The University of Waikato (Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato) was established in 1964 and is located in the heartland of New Zealand, operating from two campuses - one in Hamilton and one in Tauranga. The University is committed to academic excellence, quality research and innovative teaching programmes. It embraces its heritage and takes pride in contemporary New Zealand culture, our commitment to biculturalism, our modern multicultural society, and the sustainability of our environment, economy and society.

The University’s motto, Ko Te Tangata, is demonstrated by academically challenging programmes that reflect the interests of students and the needs of employers and communities with which we are engaged. For the sixth year running, the University of Waikato has climbed up the QS World University Rankings, and now sits at 266 out of 1,000 institutions worldwide. Furthermore, 12 of our subject areas are amongst the world’s top 250. It is a university that demonstrates adaptability, flexibility and future-focus in its programmes, including health, applications of digital technology, innovation in the agricultural, manufacturing and engineering sectors of the economy, and in the study of environmental issues. From the beginning, it was envisaged that Māori studies should be a key feature of the University of Waikato, and Māori students currently make up over 19% of the student body.

The University also has strong international ties, including a partnership with Zhejiang University City College (ZUCC), which welcomes students through their doors every year to study at the Joint Institute, and receive degrees from both ZUCC and Waikato.