Governance NZ

New directors appointed to the Governance NZ board

Governance New Zealand is pleased to announce the appointment of Julie Hardaker FCG FGNZ as its new President. Julie has previously served as Vice-President and is currently Chair of Women on Boards NZ. Julie is a practicing lawyer who holds public and private sector directorships, and is the former Mayor of Hamilton.

Central Electoral Representative, Shane Bidois FCG FGNZ, Ngāti Ranginui and Ngāti Rangiwewehi, has been appointed the new Vice-President. Shane was previously GNZ Wellington Branch Committee Chair, and has held several governance roles, including Company Secretary and Legal Counsel. He is also a certified internal auditor and risk assurance manager, with postgraduate qualifications in law and bioethics. He has a strong interest in how governance within Aotearoa can be informed by Te Ao Māori and tikanga.

Outgoing President, Dr Denis Mowbray FCG FGNZ, continues as a GNZ Board member and as the New Zealand member representative on the Chartered Governance Institute's international Council.

Three new directors were also recently elected to the board – Dr Coral Ingley PhD FCG FGNZ, Yee Yang Lee FCG FGNZ and Christopher Russell FCG FGNZ.

Julie says she is delighted to take on the role of President and to continue the changes GNZ has been implementing under its new strategic plan. “I would like to thank Denis Mowbray for ably steering us through the past two years, including through the impact of Covid-19, and especially for his significant work and contribution to GNZ. I also acknowledge and thank outgoing Treasurer, Joy Tracey for her immense work and support for GNZ over the past six years.”

Julie says she is looking forward to working with the recently appointed Chief Executive, Graham Hill, Vice-President Shane Bidois, and the GNZ board and branches to meet the needs of the governance community.

View Media Release...