Women on Boards Executive Committee

Executive Committee 2018
Julie Hardaker FCIS ChairDirector, Julie Hardaker Lawyers
Jayne AthertonConsultant (Governance Practice), Kerridge & Partners
Liz Jones ACIS
AJ MillwardGM, Strategy & Governance, Provincial Development Unit, MBIE
Kate PresswellPBRF Coordinator, Manukau Institute of Technology
Prabha Ravi QSM, JPFounder & Director of Grow Consultancy Ltd and Natraj School of Dance
  • Julie Hardaker FCIS

    executive committee chair

    Julie is a lawyer, former Mayor of Hamilton and governance professional. She has a strong interest in women and leadership and has recently completed research on gender stereotypes and women leaders which will be published in early 2018.

    Julie regularly presents on women in leadership, governance and local government structures and is also a media commentator on local government and current public interest topics.

  • Jayne Atherton

    executive committee member

    Jayne Atherton works in board recruitment, assessment and research following a 20-year career as a national news, business and finance journalist and Senior Editor in the UK and New Zealand, working across newspapers and digital. She was also a regular contributor to Sky News, BBC Radio and TV.

    Originally from Manchester in the UK, Jayne is passionate about the role of good governance in business success and is excited by the potential for New Zealand to be a world leader in driving high governance standards.

  • Liz Jones ACIS

    executive committee member

    Liz Jones is a retired Chartered Accountant who has been a member of the Women on Boards Executive Committee since 2015.

    She has taken an active role in governance through previous involvement with Chartered Accountants special interest groups and with the NZ Pacific Economic Cooperation Council for over 10 years.

    Liz maintains an active interest in ensuring that women have an opportunity to contribute to principled governance.

  • AJ Millward

    executive committee member

    AJ Millward has a background in science and communications and has spent a large portion of her career in the public sector. AJ is a people leader with strong advisory skills and is someone who works with her network to achieve results.

  • Kate Presswell

    executive committee member

    An experienced governance practitioner (GAICD), Kate creates governance and leadership opportunities for women; from Board internships to supported participation in global forums such as The Commission on the Status of Women (UN Women) and YWCA World Council. As President, YWCA Darwin, Kate led one of the most successful social service agencies in Australia, focused on empowering women, young women and families. As National Merger Representative Kate co-led the 2018 amalgamation of YWCAs across Australia, to become a strong, national and feminist organisation of women, young women and girls working for gender equality in Australia.

    In her academic capacity, Kate lectured first year Higher Education students in Academic Literacies through Sustainability, Cultural Intelligence, and Design and Innovation (EWB Challenge).

  • Prabha Ravi QSM, JP

    executive committee member

    Prabha is committed to helping public and not-for-profit sector organisations and private businesses grow to their full potential through best practice governance. In the past 10 years, she has provided a sustainable long term vision and strategic direction to the boards she has served, providing clarity to the management team to execute them effectively.

    With a strong background in business development and deep experience in the education, art and culture industry, Prabha has specific expertise within the export-oriented organisations.

    She also has a strong background and experience in community development with a special interest in raising the profile and supporting very talented ethnic women and youth from diverse backgrounds sitting around the board table.