Our Board

Governance New Zealand Board 2021

In terms of Rule 9.2 of the Society. the Board shall comprise all the members of the Committee and the Immediate Past President of the Division comprising:

Position Name
President & International Council Member Dr Denis Mowbray FCG FGNZ
Vice-President & Northern Electoral Representative Julie Hardaker FCG FGNZ
Treasurer & Central Electoral Representative Joy Tracey FCG FGNZ
Immediate Past President Vacant
Northern Electoral Representative Siddhartha Sharma FCG FGNZ
Northern Electoral Representative Vacant
Central Electoral Representative Shane Bidois FCG FGNZ
Southern Electoral Representative Kate Reid FCG FGNZ
Student Representative Simon Lambourne GradCG
  • Dr Denis Mowbray FCG, FGNZ

    President & International Council Member

    Denis is a specialist advisor and part-time academic working in the corporate and not-for-profit sectors. His area of specialist expertise is behavioural governance. His ground-breaking PhD research identified that while compliance and regulation are important, it is the combination of behavioural characteristics and attributes existing within and between the board and executive, operating as a ‘Third Team’, which allows the board to influence the executive, who in turn impact organisational performance. His work with boards is highly regarded, which sees him work frequently, both locally and internationally, with government, corporate and not-for-profit organisations.

    Denis is recognised as a creative and strategic thinker, who has broad general management experience. It is this desirable melding of practical experience and knowledge, combined with his consulting and academic experience, that give Denis strong insights into the behavioural governance issues facing government, businesses and not-for-profit organisations.

    Denis has also contributed chapters for two management books and presented papers on governance issues at international and national conventions and conferences.

  • Julie Hardaker FCG, FGNZ

    Vice-President & Northern Electoral Representative

    Julie has an LLB (Hons) and MMS (Hons) from Waikato University and is a Chartered Fellow of The Chartered Governance Institute. Julie is a lawyer, governance professional and the former Mayor of Hamilton from 2010 - 2016. She has practiced law for 25 years and operates her own law firm in Hamilton.

    Julie is chair of the Environmental Protection Authority, deputy chair of Governance New Zealand and Chair of Women on Boards. She holds other government and private sector board roles.

    Julie has a strong interest in women and leadership and has recently completed research on gender stereotypes and women leaders. She is a media commentator and regularly presents at conferences on governance topics, women in leadership and local governance.

  • Joy Tracey FCG, FGNZ

    Treasurer & Central Electoral Representative

    Joy Tracey has held CFO, senior finance and strategy positions in manufacturing, services industries, the public sector and large not for profits. Joy became an Associate of ICSA in 1991 and was made a Fellow of Governance New Zealand in 2015. She is also a CA, holds an MBA from Massey University, and is a member of the Institute of Directors.

    Joy has over 20 year’s experience supporting large commercial business boards, regulatory authorities and Audit and Risk committees as Company Secretary. She been involved in the establishment of several significant greenfield opportunities. Most recently Joy managed the merger of the Animal Health Board Incorporated and NAIT to form the OSPRI group of companies before liquidating the Incorporated society that was the Animal Health Board.

    Joy has held board positions and chaired the boards of a number of local and national community organisations. She is currently Branch Chair of the Wellington Governance New Zealand Committee, and a director of several commercial and not-for profit organisations.

  • Siddhartha Sharma FCG, FGNZ

    Northern Electoral Representative

    Siddhartha is an experienced Legal, Governance and Management Professional, gaining substantial expertise in these areas during his 15 years in national and international roles.

    He is currently employed with TMF Group at their Auckland Office and has also held various managerial positions in different countries while working with TMF Group. In his current role he is successfully assisting International Business Set up and Operate in New Zealand.

    Siddhartha is also experienced in Global and Centralised Corporate Secretarial and Corporate Governance Functions for International Business.

    He is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Company Secretaries of India (ICSI), a Law Graduate and holds Management Qualification in International Business.

    Siddhartha is also a Member of Governance NZ's Auckland Branch Committee and was elected as a Fellow of Governance NZ in November 2017.

  • Shane Bidois FCG, FGNZ

    Central Electoral Representative

    Shane Bidois, Ngāti Ranginui, Mā muri ā mua, ka totika – The precedence of the past, sets a foundation for the future.

    Shane is an aspiring director with over 10 years' executive-level experience. During this time, he has held positions such as Legal Counsel and Company Secretary and, more recently, Risk and Assurance Manager for a large not-for-profit. With expertise in governance, health and safety, risk management and internal audit, Shane brings a diverse range of experience. He holds an LLM (Merit) from Victoria, PGDipHealSc (Bioethics) from Otago, is a certified internal auditor and in risk management assurance by the Institute of Internal Auditors, and a member of the Institute of Directors. He has also completed short courses at Peking University (北京大学).

    Shane has a strong interest in Te Ao Māori, and the contributions that both tikanga and kawa can make to good governance.

  • Kate Reid FCG, FGNZ

    Southern Electoral Representative

    Kate is a Senior Lecturer at Canterbury University, School of Health Sciences.

    She is committed to good governance in the education and health sector, especially relating to empowering models of care to meet the health needs of respective communities. She brings a strategic focus to the Not-for-Profit Boards she has served on and has a strong background in health ranging from clinical, leadership, management, education, research and governance roles. She is currently the Chairman of the Canterbury West Coast Division of the Cancer Society of NZ

    Kate was the recipient of the Women in Governance "Excellence in Governance Development Award" in May 2017 for her work in the health and education sector.

    In November 2017 she was elected as a Fellow of Governance NZ.